Dernières nouvelles

Voir toutes les nouvelles

Sport Hall of Fame Launches New “LEGACY” Category

Posted: May 23, 2019

Local Historical Sporting Greats to be Honoured May 31

The Ottawa Sport Hall of Fame today introduced a new classification of honourees, entitled LEGACY Members.  Many of the star athletes and teams from the 1890s to 1960s haven’t been recognized for their achievements, which not only shined the spotlight on them, but also the City of Ottawa. The moment has arrived for three athletes, one athlete/builder and three teams, to enter  into the Ottawa Sport Hall of Fame May 31, as they become inaugural Legacy Category members.

Included in the group are athletes Jean Beardsley (curling), the late Eddie Carroll (boxing) and the late Wilfrid Mathieu (speed skating); athlete/builder the late Donald Gilchrist (figure skating); and three teams, the Ottawa Silver Seven (hockey), the Ottawa Senators Stanley Cup winners from 1915-27 (hockey), and the 1892 Ottawa tug-of-war Canadian champions. Media note: 92 year-old Jean Beardsley will attend the ceremony.

“Ottawa is, without question, a hotbed …

lire la suite