Who We Are

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/2″ el_class=”large-column”][vc_column_text]


The Ottawa Sport Hall of Fame Gallery is dedicated to featuring the outstanding sports men and women who have been inducted into the Hall. Visitors can view displays of artifacts, photographs and memorabilia honouring our rich sports heritage and learn about the Hall of Fame members who have brought pride to our city through their outstanding achievements.[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]

Our History

For the late sportscaster Ernie Calcutt the idea was the establishment of a sports shrine to commemorate the athletic achievements of a myriad of Ottawa’s sports heroes.

In October 1966, then Ottawa mayor Don Reid gave official recognition and financial support and it was determined the National Capital’s sports shrine would officially open on the upper concourse of the newly completed Civic Center on April 25 1968.

Since then, over 250 of Ottawa’s finest athletes, builders and teams have been welcomed into the prestigious Hall of Honour. In 2005, the hall was moved to the second level concourse at Scotiabank Place where it resided for six years until it found its new home in Ottawa City Hall.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/2″ el_class=”small-column”][vc_column_text el_class=”block”]

Our Vision

‘The Hall’ is the ultimate leader in celebrating the people and events that shape Ottawa’s sporting heritage.[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text el_class=”block”]

Our Mission

The Hall’ will create an environment that celebrates the people and events that have shaped Ottawa’s sporting heritage through:

  • An annual induction ceremony honouring newly recognized members, and
  • Developing and promoting on-going communications, exhibits and special events highlighting Ottawa’s sporting history.

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text el_class=”block”]

Board of Directors

Dave Best: Chair
Sue Kavanagh: Director – Secretary
Mike Flanagan: Director – Past Chair
Michael Burch: Director – Treasurer
Aldo Chiappa: Director – City Liaison
Sue Fleming: Director
Al Charron: Director
Gavin Lumsden: Director
Marc Seaman: Director
Greg Wheaton: Director
Bill Siekierski: Director
Shawn Blanchard: Director[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]