Ottawa Rough Riders


Team : Football
Year Inducted: 2019

1968-69 Teams

The 1968 and 1969 CFL Ottawa Rough Riders are the franchise’s only teams to win two consecutive Grey Cups. Coached by Frank Clair, there were 36 players represented on the two teams— 29 of which played both years. In addition, the 1969 team was selected as Canada’s Team of the Year beating out the Stanley Cup winning Montreal Canadiens. The 1968 Ottawa Rough Riders ended their season with a record 9 wins, 3 losses and 2 ties, finishing first in the CFL’s Eastern Conference. The 1969 team finished with a record 11 wins and 3 losses, also placing them first in the CFL’s Eastern Conference.

Fifty years later, the 1968-69 teams still hold two Grey Cup records. In 1968, Vic Washington recorded an 80-yard touchdown run—the longest in Grey Cup history. And Russ Jackson—considered to be one of the best Canadian-born players in the CFL— holds the record for throwing the most touchdown passes (4) in a Grey Cup game.

Coach Frank Clair and eight of the players have been inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame.