Media Availability: Ottawa Sport Hall of Fame Induction Dinner

Posted: May 31, 2017

Ottawa’s sporting legends will gather on Friday, June 2nd at The Horticultural Building at Lansdowne to celebrate 50 years of the Ottawa Sport Hall of Fame at this year’s Induction Dinner.

Honoured Inductees from the five decades of the Hall’s history will be in attendance. Several members of the 1960s Ottawa Rough Riders, including Russ Jackson, Moe Racine, Dave Thelen and Whit Tucker, will represent the great football teams of that era. Elizabeth Manley will be on hand to celebrate her 1988 Olympic silver medal skate in Calgary. Last year’s inductee Tina Takahashi, will be on hand to welcome the 2017 Honoured Inductees, the five founding partners of the Ottawa Sport and Entertainment Group (OSEG), Roger Greenberg, John Ruddy, Jeff Hunt, John Pugh and Bill Shenkman. Family members will represent the legacy of Howard Darwin and stand in for Olympic gold medalist Glenroy Gilbert.

Date:            Friday, June 2

Time:            Reception from 5:00 – 6:30 p.m.

Dinner and Induction Ceremony: 6:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Location:   The Horticultural Building

                         1525 Princess Patricia Way, Lansdowne, Ottawa

During the dinner the Ottawa’s Top 50 Sporting Moments of all time will be announced, reaching as far back as Canada’s centennial year in 1867 to the present day.

Emcee for the dinner is TSN 1200’s Dean Brown, the voice of the Ottawa Senators. A special display will feature the original ‘Pedro the Panda’ from the Carleton University and University of Ottawa annual Panda Football Game.

Media are invited to attend the event. Inductees will be available during the reception time for photographs and interviews.

Media contact:

Barb MacDonald