1948 RCAF-Hockey-Club


Team : Hockey
Year Inducted: 1998
Date of Birth: January 1st, 1948
Born in: Ottawa, Ontario

The Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) Hockey Club were Gold Medal winners at the 1948 Winter Olympic Games in St. Moritz, Switzerland. They were also crowned as the World’s Amateur Hockey champions. Representing Canada, the Ottawa-based team went undefeated (7-0-1).

They outscored their opposition 69-5, recording five shutouts. Competition came from Austria, Britain, Czechoslovakia, Italy, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, and U.S.A. Following the Olympic Games the teamed toured Europe playing before 250,000 spectators and traveling 15,000 miles. Twelve of the 20 team members hailed from Ottawa.

The IOC lists that all players, including reserves, were given an Olympic Gold Medal.

  • Hubert Brooks (reserve)
  • Murray Dowey, Toronto (goaltender)
  • Frank Dunster, Montreal (defenceman)
  • Roy Forbes, Vancouver (defenceman) (reserve)
  • Andy Gilpin, Montreal (forward) (reserve)
  • Jean Gravelle
  • Patsy Guzzo, Ottawa (also inducted into the OSHOF individually in 1985 as an Athlete – Hockey
  • Wally Halder
  • Ted Hibberd
  • Ross King, Portage la Prairie (goaltender) (reserve)
  • Henri-André Laperrière, Ottawa (defenceman)
  • John Lecompte, Ottawa (defenceman)
  • Pete Leichnitz (reserve)
  • George Mara
  • Albert Renaud
  • Reginald Schroeter
  • Irving Taylor
  • Coach: Sgt. Frank Boucher, Ottawa
  • Manager: S/L Sandy Watson, Ottawa
  • Trainer: Cpl George McFaul, Ottawa